Dilemas of organizing on new Mac

I’m a Mac idiot. Worse, I’m from the PC world and I tend to overanalyze things. I say I’m a Mac idiot because while I’m far from new to computers, I’m new to Macs. This probably makes me fairly dangerous to my poor unsuspecting Mac.

I need to organize files. I know there are a thousand Mac forums (can anyone recommend their favorites that are helpful to newbies like me?), but everyone here has always been so delightful and helpful, I thought I’d ask your opinions first.

Smart folders? Labels? Leave everything in current locations or make folders like I did on the PC? What works for you? There seems to be so many options with the Mac that I’m overwhelmed - Gah!

My main concern is for my writing. For my fiction writing, I could make a folder called Writing, then make separate folders for each novel or short story within it. But what about query letters, the synopsis, crits, agent lists, etc? Folders, none, labels? My PC file system is huge - spindly. I need a better method.

Why must I be a geek and a writer? LOL!

Spotlight, the Mac search tool, is pretty good and can save you from yourself when necessary. You’ll still want to organize things a bit, but it’s not the end of the world if you don’t.

I organize files into folders by client or project, with subfolders for administrative stuff vs. the project contents. I’ve found that it’s easiest to keep the hierarchy as flat as possible, so I don’t have a “writing” folder. I also keep application-specific packages – like Scrivener projects or DevonThink databases – at the top level, even though they might be related to particular projects. I’ve found that makes it easier when things turn out to be relevant to more than one project.

Some people swear by them, but I use labels and smart folders ad hoc for special situations, not as my main structure.

Hope this helps; welcome to the Mac world!

Katherine