Doc's Introduction

You’ve probably gathered I’m new in this part of town, and if I’ve missed the formal ‘welcome, introduce yourself here’ section of the forum, I do apologise.

What are my Scrivenings? Well, I’m sticking to the old ‘write what you know and love’ mantra. I think.

I love horror, the macabre, the supernatural. I’m a strong follower of the old guard of horror, Poe, Lovecraft, et al. I’m not a slash/gore/blood style horror writer (though these methods have their uses), I much prefer the silent, subtle psychological terror of human nature. Nature itself also features in my work, there is plenty in this world that can be creepy without being supernatural.

In my past, I worked on ambulances as a medic, and am still a qualified first aider. I try to use my experiences from there in my writing, and besides writing horror themed short stories, I’m working on a longer project about a street paramedic and the real-life horrors he experiences.

Yes, I’m slightly disturbing with all this dark and grim horror stuff. I know. My ultimate goal is to get enough work published to qualify me for membership in the UK branch of the Horror Writers Association. Of course, if I happen to write something that earns me a Rowling-esque pay packet in the meantime, I shall certainly not grumble.

To keep me writing regularly, I’m attempting to keep an online blog of musings and thoughts. I’m not as prolific on it as I would like yet, but I’m getting there. The link to it is on my profile page if anyone is interested…

In my personal life, I work by day at B&Q to pay the bills, live with my parents, but am hoping to find a place with my gorgeous girlfriend, Kaylea (and her three cats and two hamsters) sometime soon. I’m a Trekkie and a Browncoat. To chillout, I love listening to HIM, Avenged Sevenfold, Slipknot and Julia Nunes, but that isn’t an exclusive list.