Does Scrivener provide a way to access its files in an "open" way?

Hi :slight_smile:. I’m new around here and am considering buying Scrivener.

Aside from being a writer, I’m also a software developer. I might want to add a graphical timeline functionality to Scrivener via an external application. In order to do that, I’d need to access the timeline in Scrivener. Is all this information stored by Scrivener in a format that is easy to parse?

Much appreciated! :slight_smile:

The quick answer is no.

If you’re not familiar with it, you might want to check out Aeon Timeline, which integrates with Scrivener.

Timeline functionality within Scrivener is implemented and is in testing phase. It is scheduled for release with the next major update. May be you can save yourself the effort of implementing it in an external application. :slight_smile:

I wasn’t aware about Aeon, thank you :slight_smile:. It’s a bit pricey though :slight_smile:. Do you have any idea how exactly it integrates with Scrivener? As in: how does it get data from Scrivener? Or maybe Scrivener supports sending data to some external application?

Oh, really? So just to make sure: we’re talking about graphical timeline view here, right? BTW: if I buy this version, will I also get updates for it included in the same price?

Thanks for answering :slight_smile:

I am not part of L&L. My understanding of Scrivener pricing policy is that minor updates are free and major updates are not.

Here are the details from L&L:

[url]https://forum.literatureandlatte.com/t/important-note-regarding-our-update-policy/25536/1]

So if you buy the current version now, you will pay some additional fee when the major update is released.

Hope that helps,
Jim