Drag and Drop Image Importing from the Web

I love Scrivener, but I have one (hopefully) small request that would make it a lot more pleasant to use for research: I would like to be able to drag and drop images from web sites and have them show up as “Polaroids”, the way images dragged from a folder do now.

I’m working on a few projects that require visual reference, and it’s a bit annoying to have to save the image to my hard drive, and then drag it into Scrivener in order to get the polaroid look.

This seems like it shouldn’t be too much trouble, but I’m not a programmer so I really don’t know.

By the way, would it also be possible to drag and drop things onto the cork board to import them, rather than having to target the folder in the sidebar? Less of an inconvenience, but still a bit annoying.

Thanks!

I am looking into importing web files such as images directly from the internet for the next version. It’s on the list, but I can’t promise anything in case it turns out to be more complicated than I anticipate, as I don’t want to direct too much development effort towards download-manager-style features as that’s not a core feature. However, I am hopeful that it shouldn’t be too difficult, as I looked into it cursorily only the other day.

As for importing stuff into the corkboard - I’m not sure about that. It’s something else on my list to look at, but it would mean extending the import architecture to the corkboard and outliner and makes the internals more complicated. So, again, something I’m going to look at but I can’t promise one way or another until I look at it properly.

Thanks for your suggestions and all the best,
Keith

Great, hopefully at least the web importing will work out, that’d be a killer feature for me. I know this stuff’s more complicated than it looks from the outside (“all you have to do is…” yeah right), I’m just glad it’s being looked at.