Dual Export Workflow: Scrivener > LaTeX, and Scrivener > Word (docx)

This is probably a very simple question, but i cant seem to find much on it.

Im an academic writer, and write most of my work in LaTeX (from my Engineering and Psychology past). But in my current discipline (History of Religion), everyone that i collaborate with tends to be inextricably bound to Word. :frowning:

Given that I am just starting a new raft of writing after finishing the last major project, I have upgraded to Scrivener 3 (from 2) and starting to setup my workflow again (Loving the new template btw).

What I am trying to sort out is how I can export to TeX for my personal stuff, and Word for collaboration.

I am using Zotero as a reference manager, exporting through Better BibTeX to a BibTeX database, and using standard cite-keys.

I am wondering whether there might be a mechanism of writing in pure-tex (i.e. using the Plain Text output), and creating a regex to convert the [pagenum][#citekey] type of MMD key to an ODT compatible format for Word output, and a \cite format for TeX.

However, i suspect this would mean removing MMD from my workflow, so a way to do Italics and Bold (the only two formatting options i use regularly) would also be needed.

Anyone have a solution, or able to share what they do?

I almost always compile to LaTeX and DOCX/ODT simultaneously. My workflow is based almost entirely on using Scrivener styles > Markdown. I use Pandoc to generate multiple outputs and to create my bibliographies, which means any output (LaTeX, DOCX, plain text, HTML etc.) get full bibliographic output without any manual intervention. Pandoc refs are specified as [@citekey], and Pandoc does all the heavy lifting when translating to any output.