Dynamically linking text that may change

Hello! This is my first time posting here, so forgive me if I’m breaking any kind of protocol, or posting rule.

I have a character’s name that I keep changing, as well as working titles, locations, etc. I wanted to know if there was a way, or feature that allows me to change it one place, thereby changing the, in all of the other places in the binder. This would save me a lot of time by avoiding the search and replace feature.

I’m not aware of any functionality that would let you use a dynamic placeholder like that, but have you considered just using placeholder text? BOB1, GEORGE1, ROOM1, etc. – something that is a totally unique string of text that will not appear inside of another word (Ed is great until you consider “died” and “tied” both have Ed inside).

Once you’re done with the project, search and replace your placeholders with your final names, locations, etc. Take a snapshot before you do it so you can revert.

Yeah, that’s always possible. But it would seem like it would be a handy tool to have. A search and replace for an entire binder can be risky, so I’m rather surprised such a feature is non-existent.

Well, Scrivener does have replacement codes, but they’re meant to be invoked at compile-time for things like heading numbers, your information, etc. – a one-time replacement instead of an ongoing dynamic field that substitutes the current value in real time (like Word’s data fields).

With a macro tool, you could easily build a routine to take a snapshot, perform all the substitutions, run a compile, save the output to a specific location, and revert the snapshot back so you could see how the draft was coming along with minimal bother.