Early Thoughts

I’ve just started looking at Scrivener and my first impression is I love it. The corkboard is exactly what I have been looking for for years. I have been an ardent mind manager fan as I tend to be very visual in my thinking, and simple outlines haven’t done it for me.

That being said, I have some off the cuff things I’d love to see in the clipboard.

• More Keyboard Shortcuts - I’d love to really be able to navigate, enter titles, enter synopsis without taking my hands from the keys. Ideally I’d love to even move cards this way, but that’s not quite as critical. When I get there, I’m not in direct mind dump mode anymore.

• Ability to stack cards from the corkboard view. As I start to group things I hate having to switch back to outline view. I’d love to be able to just stack the cards on top of each other. Also, having that, I’d like to beable to click on the little icon showing the stack and drill down into

There are times when I move something in the binder, that I can’t seem to get back to my cards easily. I get the one card of the Draft Level 1, but not the cards for the Level II. I think this is more me just getting used to the program at this point however. All in all I think I will love this program and live on the corkboard!

Use the arrow keys to select the card you wish to edit, and press the key. Tab and Shift-Tab will move back and forth between title and synopsis. Note you can “walk” through all of the cards pressing tab, once you are editing. Press or to leave edit mode.

As for moving cards around… I thought you could, but I guess not. You can move things around in the Binder with the keyboard. Cmd-Ctrl-Arrow keys. Up and Down are obvious, Left and Right will move a document up and down the hierarchy.