embedded todo list?

Hi!

I’m hoping there’s a way to do something like create an embedded to do list in Scrivener.

I’m just getting started with Scrivener, writing a book for people who are rehabbing and starting to use old knitting machines. First (partial!) draft will go to people on Tuesday, when I teach a class to a bunch of friends. Wheee! Nothing like a little pressure to keep my keyboard clattering.

Anyway. My task for the morning is to take a bunch of photos to support the text. I have made notes throughout the document that all start with “###” and are highlighted. My manuscript currently looks like this:

I’ve used “###” for years as my symbol in manuscripts for places I need to add or modify something.

It occurred to me as I was reading through the draft cutting and pasting all of these to a list so I could take the photos that there was probably a better way to do this, and I just don’t know how. Surely someone else has wanted to leave themselves notes inline about changes that need to be made, and then look at just the change list later as a sort of to do list?

Is there such a feature? Bonus points if I can kludge my ### notes into it, but really just having a better way to do this in the future would be a huge improvement!

Thanks for any help.

-jennifer

I think that ultimately the feature you are looking for is “Inline Annotations” (found in the Format menu, or by toggling with Shift-Cmd-A, much as you would toggle bold or italic formatting while typing).