Example books

Are there any example books that have been “scrivenered”?

I see in some of the videos ways people ave created their books. Are there any downloads available of books that have been broken down in Scrivener that we can explore and see how a book looks in Scrivener?

I’m sorry if there is a word for this I just don’t know it. I’ve searched Google and can’t find anything but then again I don’t know exactly what to call what it is I’m looking for.

Thanks. I’m new to the program but I think it’s awesome.

The source project for the Scrivener user manual is freely available. It’s a little older than the PDF copies, but for an example of a technical work, that’s okay.

And it depends on what you mean. There are a fair few self-published e-books on Amazon that were entirely created in Scrivener, and that might show you what Scrivener can do in that regard. But traditionally published authors - authors whose books adorn the shelves of your local bookshop - write in Scrivener and export to standard manuscript format. Their publishers then deal with the typesetting and suchlike. Thus, most published books written in Scrivener won’t show what a book looks like when it leaves Scrivener. If you want to self-publish, Scrivener can produce decent looking text for services such as CreateSpace, though. I would look at the novel project templates, which provides presets for this and includes example PDFs showing how this would look.

All the best,
Keith

You might like to look at:

https://forum.literatureandlatte.com/t/novel-in-a-day-2-the-revenge/19163/1

in which there are links to the Kindle, Mobi, PDF versions results of the NIAD 2 (Novel in a Day) event this year, together with the .scriv project which Pigfender used to bring it all together and compile it.

Mark