Export as multiple HTML files

Hi! I’ve been a fan of Scrivener for ages now, but this is my first time writing in. The feature I long for is one that I’ve been wanting for quite some time, but I’m writing now because I happened to actually look through the forums and found them to be quite pleasant and friendly, so it occurred to me that I might get an answer. :slight_smile:

So, let me explain a bit about how I use Scrivener, to provide context for what I’m trying to do. I’m not a writer - I’m a software developer, and work on games in my spare time. I use Scrivener mostly as a note-taking application to organize the disparate parts of projects, which I’ve found that it’s wonderful for. In this scenario I don’t need to export at all, since what I write is only for my own consumption. Recently, however, I started a large project which I plan to actually publicize a bit - you can preview the project at github.com/IreneKnapp/modern-data/ if you’re excessively curious, although I don’t expect anyone will - and it occurred to me that Scrivener might be a useful tool for maintaining its documentation, which is already rather lengthy, with about a thousand nodes (though some are very short).

I’ve previously maintained documentation for other projects in various flat-file formats, including DocBook (about which the less said, the better) and Texinfo. I found that a standard text editor may be a wonderful tool for developing software, but it’s a horrible tool for navigating and most importantly reorganizing documents which have many content sections arranged in a tree. Breaking things up into multiple flat files for the source doesn’t help much at all. That’s why I really want to use Scrivener - I already know and like its interface, and it’s great at exactly the things that I think of as the real problems here, the organization tools.

For the cross-references that documentation requires lots of, Scrivener links fit the bill admirably. Thanks! They’re quite handy.