Export open-format so I can slice-n-dice myself

Howdy, I’m new to Scrivener and trying to figure out if it will suit my needs. Let me describe my use case (which may be unusual), and the features I think would help with it, and perhaps I’ll learn that Scrivener already has what I need :slight_smile:.

I have written a book draft in HTML, using a text editor, with a separate file for each chapter. Needless to say, this is a pain, and exactly the sort of thing Scrivener seems to be designed to make easier. It’s intimidating for me to revise the book, because I am staring at HTML, in these huge sections, it’s hard to rearrange, etc. It sucks! Having little RTF Scrivenings in a nice GUI seems like it would be a huge improvement. It’s a bummer to lose my placements of pictures when importing, but maybe it’s dumb for me to have them in the first place (essentially it’s like typesetting my manuscript while it’s a draft).

Because it’s written in HTML, I have kept my book draft online, and it has benefited enormously from user feedback and search engine traffic because of this. I use a script I wrote which adds headers, footers, and TOCs, and links everything together (so each section links to the next and previous sections). Here’s an example chapter:

http://seastead.org/commented/paper/ocean.html

It is that latter functionality that I am worried about if I transfer my book into Scrivener. I’m not asking for Scrivener to do it for me - it would be a really rad feature, but a pretty big one. But I’m wondering if Scrivener could export:

a) The TOC, meaning the hierarchical contents of the Draft folder
b) Each scrivening, as RTF, or (ideally) processed through any of the standard export methods.

That way I could use my own scripts to build a nice webpage version. Essentially, having such an export format would allow technical folks to write scripts to compile the book their own way.