Feature Request

I’m not a coder, just a writer and editor. Having begun assisting some friends with getting books formatted for Kindle (and e pub) I’ve encountered one issue that it would be fantastic to see future updates of Scrivener address: Table of Contents.

To the best of my knowledge from reading the manual and trial and error, the best, and only practical way to create a Table of Contents is to have it done automatically during the compile, by the Compiler. What I’ve noticed, (and please, inform me if this is incorrect) is that the only way to force a content line in the compiled book is to create (check) Page Break before the relevant material. This forces the compile app to create a content line that includes the first available sentence, or phrase or word after the Page Break. Usually it is Chapter #, but where the author is trying to Create a link to a subject or content line, that will work also.

However, because electronic books don’t have “pages” in the actual meaning of the term, what I’ve noticed is that when you do this, often it leaves a lot of empty white space at the end of each chapter, before the forced break.

If there is anything that you scripters and coders can do working on updates of Scrivener to enable a smoother and more efficient way to create Tables of Contents, ways in which the author can have some more control over the look of the final output, (eventhough I’m aware that look fluctuates, even now, depending on whether you move forwards or backwards through the e-book) in the same way one would have control over laying out a physically printed book, this would be greatly appreciated. Greatly appreciated. GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks, Paul H.

P.S. I did notice an option in the many output options that has something to do with eliminating “white space” - but when I checked that it produced no discernible difference in the final Kindle book I was experimenting with.