figure and table placeholders

not sure if this is possible but I am doing a PhD where I write something like “the results are in Figures 1 to 5” but with placeholders I get “Figures 1 to 2” even when I use unique names for the figures that follow the text. I think the counter operates independent of the name. Would it be possible to get what I require or will I always have to manually change? By the time I have made the 20th edit it becomes quite frustrating.

As an off topic note I use indesign to create my tables as scrivener does not do this well. However the RTF converter does not play nicely with the graphics when placed into Word 2011 or Word 2013 but does with Mellel. However the docx converter keeps the size correct but creates a blurred image. So in order to keep my supervisor happy I have to compilre in RTFopen in Mellel and then export to RTF and import to Word. Not sure why this happens other than there are some converter inconsistenxcies.

Are you using the referring code, with the hashmark? I’m wondering if perhaps you have a reference proceeding the actual figure, and so that is causing the counter to increment prematurely. For example, the following placeholder will not be calculated until a second sweep, after all figure numbers have been incremented:

<$n#figure:name_of_image>

The difference here is the “#” in use after the counter style, instead of another “:” character. The latter will always increment the counter the first time name_of_image is encountered, but the former, like I say, will not generate a number until the whole draft has been computed.