"File/Import/Research Files as Aliases..."

Greetings!

I’ve been using Scrivener for about four months. I have version 2.3.1 for the Mac, which I got from Apple’s app store.

Before Scrivener I built the equivalent of the binder in Freemind, then used LibreOffice (formerly OpenOffice) for the writing. When it comes to handling the manuscript and certain aspects of outlining, Scrivener is tops.

However when it comes to gathering and organizing outside information, Scrivener is weak at best. The binder is pretty darn cool–the problem is that Scrivener’s package method of storing files is too monolithic. When I’m doing a lot of writing I typically save a backup every day. Saving all those manuscript files, even the ones I don’t modify, is one thing (and acceptable). But saving fresh copies of all those PDFs, photos, movies, sound files, and whatnot is insane.

“File/Import/Research Files as Aliases…” is a pretty cool idea. Keeping a “resources” folder next to my .scriv file is no problem (I store my .scriv backups elsewhere). The problem is that Scrivener’s alias files are hugely wasteful.

A Scrivener alias to a PDF is 117 KB, to an MP3 is 150 KB, and to a JPG is 856 KB. While this is typically an improvement for an MP3, the sample JPGs I linked to were under 50 KB. I tried “Make Alias” in Apple’s finder and it produced far worse results (2.6 MB for a 36 KB JPG file).

There’s no reason for this. From Terminal I can create a symbolic link that points to that same 36 KB JPG file, and it works as well (in Finder) as Scrivener’s or Apple’s aliases, yet it is only 17 bytes.