Files corrupting

Hi there –
I don’t know if this is a bug but I’ve had 2 different files corrupt in the past two days. It seems to happen when I have more than one Scrivener project open. Luckily the backups saved me (mostly), but I’m getting a bit skittish about the frequency. It’s never happened before and I’ve been using Scrivener for at least six years. I did the last update when it came available, so I’m up to date…

Just happened again – except this time the text of a dozen chapters just disappeared. :frowning:

I’m sorry you’re having such trouble! Could you share some more details about the setup of the projects, where they’re saved on your hard drive–for instance, are either of the projects saved in a synced location like Dropbox or Google Drive, or did one project folder somehow get moved inside another project’s folder? When you say the files are corrupted, do you mean that the text no longer loads in Scrivener’s editor, or that it appears as gibberish characters, or something else? Any more information you can offer about what you were doing when you discovered the problem, what steps led up to it, how you fixed it, etc. would be helpful in trying to track down what could have caused this.

I’m working on a Microsoft Surface. The Scrivener program is loaded on the hard drive and the project files are on an SDX card. I see there’s a problem when I try to call up a document from the “recent projects” menu option and I get an error window that says it can’t find the project. If I go to the project file and launch it there, it sometimes comes up, but when it does it is not the file I wanted, it is another one (usually one that might have been open in the background).
The second problem that I opened a project, but when I would click on a scene where there had been text (and it shows as having text in the left-hand navigation area) I see a blank page and then the icon in the navigation becomes blank as well. Every scene I touch then empties that section.