Find by Formatting - Screenplay Elements

Hi,

Disclaimer:
I’d like to say: I’m relatively new to Scrivener and this forum. I searched for this topic both here and in the Mac manual (since it’s slightly ahead of the Windows manual) and saw no mention of this feature.

Feature Request:
Find by Formatting - Screenplay Element - Action, Scene Header, etc.

Reasoning:
When I import a screenplay and want to split it up, it would be handy to set up a “Find by Formatting - Screenplay Element - Scene Header” search so I can just hit ‘F3’ (or whatever) to find the beginning of the next scene, then hit Ctrl-K to do the split.

An extra nice addition (IMHO) to this would be if the search actually selected the entire Scene Header so I could use Shift-Ctrl-K to auto-name the new split-out as well. This would make the workflow: import script, Find by Formatting > Screenplay Element > Scene Header, Ctrl-Shift-K, F3, Ctrl-Shift-K, F3, Ctrl-Shift-K, F3, etc.

PS:

Even better, make the whole process automatic so I can select whether or not to split by scene while importing.

Have you tried using the “Import & Split” feature? This will automate the whole process. You can find it in File > Import > Import and Split. You choose the script element at which you wish to break up the file, which will save you having to go through everything and use Cmd-K.

Hope that helps.

All the best,
Keith

Perhaps this is a Mac-only thing. When I do an Import & Split, after selecting the file, I end up with this dialog (see attachment). I don’t see any way to indicate which screenplay element to use as a split separator.
Scrivener Import and Split dialog.png

My apologies, you are right, it is currently a Mac-only thing. I was testing on a development version of the Windows version - this feature is coming in a future update.
All the best,
Keith

Excellent. Glad to hear it.