Finding filenames for Scrivener Links

I am new to Scrivener (Mac user) and need help understanding the use of “Convert Scrivener links to HTML links” in Compile settings for my ebook. I plan to use a good number of images and PDFs that I’ve uploaded to the Research area. I see the images in the editor on my pages, but they aren’t compiling in my ebook.

According to a post I found on this subject, it instructs us to “Edit>Add Link” rather than use “Add Scrivener Link.” If this is true, that I should not be inserting them as a Scrivener Link, am I pasting a “File” since it’s in my Research folder? How do I locate the filenames for each of those that I want to link?

Is there any chance that Scrivener would add that feature that turns each Scrivener link into HTML when compiled as an ebook?

Thank you so much!
Karen

Hi Karen,

Scrivener links are already converted to HTML links when that option is ticked. However, it will only convert to HTML links those Scrivener links that point to files included in the compiled document. In your case, you seem to be trying to create links to files in the Research folder, which are not included in the compiled document (given that only the Draft folder is compiled). So, there is no point in Scrivener creating HTML links for those documents because there is nothing for Scrivener to link to.

You won’t be able to include PDFs in e-books anyway, but for the images, what you should do is paste them into a text file that is included in the Draft, and link to the text file instead of to the file in Research.

All the best,
Keith

Keith, thank you – that makes sense, now that you have explained it.

However, the one snag I’m not figuring out is how to leave out that DRAFT folder (I’ve named it Scrivener Links) from my TOC.