Finding Numbers

Is there a way to search numbers? I know it sounds like a strange request. I’m a new writer and just found out (after writing a complete novel) that it’s bad grammar to write numbers and not spell them out. ie, 1=one, 2=two, etc.

I assume you mean “search for numbers”. Open the Find window and in the drop-down menu at the bottom (below “ignore Case”), choose the last option “Regular Expression (RegEx)”.

The expression to find any digit whether a singleton or part of a multiple digit number is: [size=150]\d[/size].

To find singleton digits only, try:

size=150\d(?!(\d|.\d))[/size].

Make sure there are no spaces before the first “(”.

This will also find digits in expressions where the rule does not apply, such as “1-5” and “6+10”, but these should be rare in non-technical writing.

You can go through the numbers 0 to 9 one at a time and change them to the corresponding words with replace all.
e.g.
Find: size=1503(?!(\d|.\d))[/size].

Replace all with: [size=150]three[/size]

If the regular expression changed some 3’s that you did not want changed (e.g. 3x3 changed to “threexthree”) you’ll have to identify these instances and change them back.

Steve

I improved the regular expressions above and shortened the comment. For those with some interest in regular expressions, take a look at the last regex. The number to be found is numeral “3”. The expression is:

size=1503(?!(\d|.\d)) [/size]

The first part size=1503[/size]

says find numerals “3” that are not preceded by a number or a period (decimal point). So
skip the “3” in “43” or in “.3”. The “?<!” indicates a “negative lookbehind” assertion. “\d” is any digit or a specific digit, like “3”, as here; “|” means “or” ; and “.” is a period, “escaped” by the backslash, because “.” by itself stands for any character.

The last portion [size=150]3(?!(\d|.\d))[/size]