Fit Images to Paper

Hi everybody,

I’ve been using Scrivener for several years now and love it to bits. Recently I started using more images in my text and am beginning to be a bit bugged about the process. When I drag or copy-paste any given image into the text it is alway at a very large scale so it first looks like it completely broke everything. To fix this I have to right-click on the image, go to scale image and then set a size that’s somewhat appropriate to the paper.

For - every - single - image - every - single - time.

Is there a setting somewhere the explains Scrivener to auto-scale the image to fit the paper? IF I want it bigger or smaller I could still do that manually, but I cannot imagine that anybody would automatically want to have the picture to be 10x as big as the text.

Cheers,

Napper

People have used Scrivener to create graphic novels and picture books. You’d be surprised what people want. :slight_smile:

If you have a lot of images, your best bet is probably to use an image editing tool to resize them en masse.

Katherine

Hi Katherine

Okay, so I didn’t overlook a feature then. :slight_smile:

I don’t use images “en mass” - it’s more like two or three a day to add a visual to a topic I am writing about. Usually I just drag something over from Aperture that fits the scene. I don’t mind the image-size in terms of pixels I just find it irritating that the image brakes the layout so badly before scaling it. Technically speaking Scrivener shouldn’t mind how many pixels there are. It should just check the width of the paper and scale the image size (not pixels) to fit the paper. After that everybody can do with it what they want. Scale it down even further to make it look more like a thumbnail or scale it up, leave it as it is, move it around, etc. But the first time the image is dragged into the paper it should properly display.