Font Rendering in Editor

Hey guys, great work on the new release!

I’ve been working with Scrivener for about three months now, new enough that I’m still looking for the font I like the best for the editor… which is what I was doing (again) this morning before my writing session. But then I realized that there have been a couple of fonts that I’ve come across that I thought would be workable… until I get them into place and look at some text. Then, what had been a very nice font elsewhere gets washed out in the Scrivener editor… parts of letters are less visible (see image). I don’t know if this is a smoothing issue or an anti-aliasing issue or something else.

An example:

I don’t think this is truly a bug, per se, and I’ve noticed it across the three releases that I’ve been using (023, 024, & 025). I’m wondering if there is something wrong with the way Scrivener renders the fonts? Or is there only a certain kind of font that Scriv likes better (TTF vs. OTF)? Is anyone else noticing this? My enjoyment of Scriv would go through the roof if I could actually use the fonts I prefer… and if I could stop looking for one that I like that also works properly in the editor. Any ideas?

Nothing off the top of my head, so I’ll have to dig into this a little. Does adjusting the zoom in the editor (accessible from the editor footer or View>Zoom) make a difference at all?

Thanks for getting back to me on this.

Changing the zoom (the pic was at 140%, I think) changes it… some. The smaller the font (i.e., zoomed out), the better the rendering… but the harder the reading and the working-with. Also the floated F11 environment is a bit better, but still with noticeable rendering problems. Enough to have that not be a fix.

I’ve also noticed where if I’m working in a section, some of the text which has been (up to then) richly rendered in strong black tones suddenly changes to that washed out gray. Some parts are gray, some are black.