Footnote Question

I am new to Scrivener, and have thus far only used it for preparing my lectures.
I would like to use it to write a journal article. It is a bit hard for me to tell what if any bibliography programs Scrivener works well with.
Could you please direct me to any bibliography programs that work easily with Scrivener?
Thanks in advance.

Bookends, Endnote, and Sente are from what I hear the best in terms of ease of use, Papers is also pretty good. There are others as well, such as Zotero, and BibDesk, which are less easy to integrate but free. If you poke around in the usage boards you’ll find some pretty lengthy discussions on the various available options. A lot of it comes down to taste. The main ingredients that will help you out in Scrivener is if the software can generate placeholders that you put into your text in Scrivener, and then later use the bib software to scan an RTF and turn them into a style bibliography.

Thank you for pointing me in the right direction.

I really like the structure of Scrivener, and I think that academics would benefit massively from its use.
It is a real shame that there is not a bibliography program already built in…

Having done a search, I will go with Bookends, I think.
Any suggestions what I should be mindful of?

Thanks!

It is indeed a shame that we don’t have the resources, manpower or riches of Microsoft. :slight_smile:

We have been meaning to put together a video on using Bookends, Endnote and Sente with Scrivener - we’ll get there in the end. In the meantime there’s nothing really to be mindful of, but I would recommend testing things out with a test project and a compiled RTF file to get the hang of things.

All the best,
Keith