Footnotes and Comments Shift to the Right

Hi,

First off, as this is my first time posting to this site, please allow to say what a wonderful product Scrivener is – it is really a tremendous tool that has helped me immensely with my writing.

That said, I have encountered a strange problem that I see no reference to elsewhere: Occasionally, when I reopen a chapter in Binder, I find that all of the footnotes and comments have shifted one space to the right. In other words, if a footnote ended at the period, the shading would now extend one space to the right of the period. If I exported the text, the actual number would also appear one space to the right of where it had been previously. Similarly, comment boxes would also be shifted one space to the right. So, if I had written a comment on the word “sample”, the yellow box that originally had encompassed that word would now start on the “a” instead of the “s” and end on the space after the word instead of after the letter “e.”

This has only happened two or three times on a project I have been working on for nearly a year. I only noticed it after the most recent update. I have tried to reproduce it and cannot. It happens so infrequently that I have not been able to identify even a possible trigger. When it does happen, it only happens to the chapter I am currently working on; no other part of of the file is effected.

I am running OS 10.6.6 on an Intel iMac.

Any help you could provide on this issue would be greatly appreciated, as it can be a real chore to go back and move 30+ footnotes – particularly when you’ve already congratulated yourself on finishing the chapter :wink:

Hi,