Footnotes, and thanks!

I really love Scrivener. I’m using it to write a long-ish (35 page) academic paper, and it’s great how I can keep all of my non-book sources, notes, and drafts all in the same place, and re-arrange my draft without fear of accidentally deleting something permanently.

The only thing I’ve really struggled with in Scrivener is footnotes. I’m using inspector footnotes with EndNote X4 as my citation management software, and Word for Mac 2004 as my word processor. I can get it to work, but there are a couple issues which I haven’t been able to resolve to my satisfaction. I suspect that some of these are not actually a Scrivener issue, but since I’m not a developer, I’ll bring them up here, just in case they are.

The first issue is anchoring footnotes to specific words - if you later want to re-write a sentence and change the last word, but maintain the same footnote, it’s far too easy to accidentally delete the footnote. If you leave only the final period, it’s hard to click into it and find the associated footnote again. Also, I made the mistake of letting a friend edit my paper in Scrivener itself. I took snapshots of all the sections, thinking I was safe, but as far as I can see, there’s no way to see edits (or, more importantly, deletions) made to the footnotes when comparing snapshot versions, although when I revert to the original snapshot the footnotes are restored.