Formatting and Links

Hi, I’m pretty new to Scrivener, but I’m liking it so far. I like an editor that gets out of the way as much as it does.

I did have a few questions that, after having looked in the manual a couple of times, scanning the forums and FAQs and such, I haven’t found the answer to. I wasn’t sure if some of these might not be better classed as Wishes, but I thought I’d put them all together here, at least initially.

Anyway, here’s my questions:

1. When I create a new document, it always comes up Courier, 12 point. I haven’t found a preference to set some other default. Is this possible?

2. Is there a hotkey to follow a link (scrivener or otherwise)? It would be nice when I’m typing not to have to go to and from the mouse quite so much.

3. Similar to 2, is there a way to automatically create links? I tried the autocorrect, but that doesn’t seem to have that sort of data. I ask because I once wrote aprogram for keeping notes that had this capability. Basically, I could create an autocorrect that when typing certain text, it would automatically format it with an internal link to some other document in the system (something akin to a wiki link, but not based upon the page title but a table of known tags). This was great for linking to things like character bios, setting details and so on automatically, which really helped during the eventual revisions. Right now, Scrivener’s internal linking seems a little tedious, especially if there are multiple levels of folders to go through.

Anyway, do any of these things exist in the current scrivener, or should I put them in the Wishlist instead?

Thanks in advance!

Geoff

1. Tools > Options > Appearance > Fonts.

2. No hotkey AFAIK. Perhaps you could define a hotkey to get the focus on the window containing the link and then use the windows context menu key (if you have a keyboard with windows keys) … just guessing.

3. Don’t think so.