Formatting for Poetry Chapbook

Hi. I’m very new to Scrivener (just downloaded last week) so I appreciate any help. One of the first projects I’m using it for is a poetry chapbook, which will be approximately 5.5 x 8.5 (standard piece of paper folded in half lengthwise). Is there a way to format this is Scrivener so that when I export the file/s to MSWord for printing, I do not have to spend time formatting everything from inside that software? Thanks.

JS

Scrivener & poetry – I have some experience with this. Here is my two cents:

I think there is always going to be a significant formatting task when it comes to poems. The main reason being: determining where to place poetry on a page is pretty tricky, because poems have a significant visual presentation.

Here is one such issue: where to set the left margin for (left-aligned) poetry? A typical strategy is to determine the left margin of each poem by centering the longest line of the poem on the page. I once designed a website which could do this on-the-fly, but I know of no way (in a writing, word proc, or page layout program) that you could get that kind of per-poem formatting except by doing it by hand – and that would be a job best done in the app where you are doing your final formatting – MS Word in your case.

Even determining page breaks requires significant judgement in doing poetry layout. Also, if more than one poem appears on a page, things get even trickier.

Scrivener will be great for your writing and working with poetry and for arranging and rearranging the order of your poems for the chapbook. I heartily recommend it for all you creative writing needs (and more!), but to make your chapbook look just like you want it to, you will want to spend some time in an app where you will work over the final layout to make everything look just like you like.