Formatting of Standard Manuscript format changed in 0.3.5

I have been using the Scrivener Windows Beta for about four months now, and have compiled my work into a standard manuscript format PDF file every now and then. Before I updated, it was output in a format with a large font, large borders and large spacing. My work then equalled about 300 pages of manuscript. Now, when I compile with the same setting (Novel Standard Manuscript Format), Scrivener compiles a document with far smaller formatting, and is only 220 pages, despite having a larger word length. I can’t find anything about this on the 0.3.5 changes list.

I have done a bit of Googling, and it appears that the former formatting more closely resembles the accepted standard. Is this a conscious change to the software, or a bug, or am I thick and doing something wrong? I don’t mind printing less (or more, whatever the case may be), but I’d like to know if this really is the ‘standard’ format.

Thanks much for your help.

According to what I see, when I apply the “Novel Standard Manuscript Format” and then expand the compile window with the blue arrow button, everything looks to be in order. Page Settings show 1" margins all around, which is the standard, and the Formatting settings for the various text document types are all using double-spaced 12pt Courier. Are you seeing something else in these places?

I was wondering if in upgrading to the latest beta, the page size has been reset to A4 rather than US Letter or whatever you had it on before.

Mark

Mark might be on to something there. It should be US Letter, but you can verify that in the Page Settings compile option pane at the very top. There is a drop-down for “Paper size”.

Thanks for the help Amber and Mark, but I am still perplexed.