Formatting styles

I have been using MS Word for many years. Since I write four different types of documents: a novel, a joke book, a self-help book and my op-ed columns I use different formats for all of them. I lhave four different types of “fromats” for each one. SO when I work on a novel, I use, “Normal” and I set it up so that it’s a certain typestyle, a certain type size etc. H1 is then formatted and so is "title etc. All MS Word Docs setup the same way.
So then I get Scrivener and for the life of me, I cannot figure out how to set up a document so that the normal style panel can be made to look the way I want it to in terms of: type face, type size, alignment, spacing beteween paragraphs etc. Whenever I ask Scrivener how to do that I get some totally different way they do it and they are not very good about keeping up with the different versions. I just went into a tutorial and when they pointed out how to do things, when I tried to follow along I opened my menus and the things they were showing were not the same as I have and I have the current 3.3.2 version. How do I get Headline 2 to look the way I want it to? and the same with the other style options?

Hi Bkeelan. Welcome to the forum. :slight_smile:

It is actually quite simple.

All you need to do is format a chunk of text the way you wish a specific style to look.
Then, select part of that text (a single word is already enough) and :

A list of all your styles will appear to the right, from which simply pick the one you are currently tweaking.
. . . . . . . .

As for the “normal style” (That’s called “no style” in Scrivener) :

Format a paragraph to look as you want it,
then with again a chunk of text selected (in your case, since you mention different formattings for different purposes/projects, we won’t do it in the options) go to project settings,
and :

The default formatting is now set for new documents within this one project.