Full Screen Not Working

I’m new to Scrivener, so it may be user error, but every time i try to use the full screen view, something seems to go wrong. The full screen layout appears for a moment, and then disappears and I’m back to the regular editor view… Sometimes the scrollbar on the right hand side is still visible, and sometimes I can hover at the bottom of the screen and the bottom toolbar from the full screen view will appear and disappear again. The scrollbar and the bottom toolbar flicker in and out until I click the full screen button again and exit.

The problem is most likely something else on the computer, not Scrivener itself. Two of the most common culprits are video drivers or antivirus software.

For video drivers, consider updating them. If this is on a laptop, perhaps best to do from the laptop manufacturer’s web site, If on a desktop or tower, probably still a good idea to do from the manufacturer’s web site, but there is also the option of doing it from the video display card/chip manufacturer (Nvidia, Intel, AMD) web sites. I would go with manufacturer web sites and avoid third party supposed driver download sites. A Google search on “video drivers update” should turn up some useful discussions and references.

For antivirus, you might determine which your computer is running and search these forums (see upper right hand corner and may need to be logged in) on “virus” to see if problems have been reported regarding it. Some are not so great, some require tweaking to exempt Scrivener (from falsely being identified as problematic) and possibly having to uninstall/download/reinstall Scrivener again after doing the tweaking.