Generating a report of individual 'texts/Scrivenings' added.

I am a beginning graduate student in the social sciences, and in the past couple months I’ve begun to use Scrivener to create and manage a repository of “citeable notes,” a la Peg Boyle Single (http://www.insidehighered.com/advice/dissertation/single2).

The program works smashingly for this purpose. It’s great for outlining papers. I just drag and drop previously filed citeable notes into a new outline as needed – for support of my arguments, or for reference, or what have you.

However: given this use case, “tracking project progress” for me is a bit of a different animal. I don’t care much about word count. Rather I am concerned with the number of individual notes/Scrivenings I create.

One thing I would love to be able to do is to pull up a report of Scrivenings/texts added, within a given time frame. As each note represents to me a single ‘gleaning’ from a reading, such reports could reveal to me one concrete measure of how ‘productive’ my reading has been, over a given time frame.

I suppose it would be helpful if I could also make a case as to why this feature would also serve Scrivener’s core customers (non-academic writers). Perhaps I can open that question up to you all. Would you benefit by the ability to pull up reports of individual Scrivenings added? Do you think it’s a worthwhile productivity measure, to supplement your raw word count?

Thought this was worth bringing up. Also curious who else uses Scrivener this way. Suppose I should head on over to the use case forum for that!

Have you tried the option that shows subdocument counts in the Binder (it’s in the Appearance tab of Tools/Options...? That might end up doing what you are essentially looking for here, except on a per-folder basis, which I would imagine would be superior to a single unified count (which would include any and all things you add, including organisational folders, items in the Trash and so forth).

Amber,