Greek and .txt

I’ve been trying to find a way to create more ‘durable’ text files (as in plain text rather than rtf). I thought Scrivener’s ‘Export as plain text’ would be the way, but the trick is that I need to include polytonic Greek in these documents.

When I export as plain text from Scrivener, I get a .txt file that—when opened in Bean or TextWrangler—proves to preserve the Greek. (Whether or not it’s really a .txt file I wonder.)

But, when then imported into Scrivener, the Greek is all shot to hell.

I’m a novice at such things and am just puzzled. I guess my question is:

Is it possible to create a plain text file (.txt) with polytonic Greek? Scrivener’s export seems to suggest that it is. But its import suggests otherwise.

I’m sure it’s simple to you wizards, so maybe you could ‘splain it to me?

What is probably happening is that your exported file needed UTF-16, and Scrivener is only capable of understanding UTF-8 and ASCII (which comes along for free with UTF-8) during import. UTF-16 is a perfectly valid format, and as you have noticed, it does work in applications that support it. It is probably reasonable to presume that as time goes by, its adoption will increase (it’s already the default encoding in the Windows world), especially since UTF-16 adoption is necessary for some languages to become commonly transmitted. It’s just that, if this is indeed what is going on, for a while your exports will not be Scrivener compatible.

If you needed to, you could probably get the data back in via copy and paste from Bean.

And yes, these are just ordinary text files. Modern text files can have a massive character set to them, allowing for alphabets from many complicated languages. Before Unicode, you had to do this with hundreds of different encoding sets.

Thanks, Amber.

I’m primarily concerned about the integrity of the .txt file. If Scrivener has a problem for the moment, that’s ok. As you say I can copy/paste if need be.