Headings in editor

Hi,

I’m new to Scrivener and I’m really confused about the usage and utility of headings when using the editor to write text.
How do you use headings ? As it is in the iOS app, it is pretty limited : you only have two headings level in the presets and it’s hard to customize. I don’t know if headings’ levels are of any use when compiling…
I may have some bad habits from other apps and maybe headings should be avoided altogether in a Scrivener document. The document is then an unstructured piece of text (besides lists) and all the structure is handled by the binder. I don’t know.
This is an example of documents I’d like to write with a few headings to define minimal hierarchical content (in markdown to help understand my point) :

Document title (headings level 1)

Some text

some headings level 2 title

Some text

some headings level 3 title

Some text

How do you guys structure simple documents as the example above ?
(I don’t want to manually define a style for each title, that’s a lot of work and it’s not reusable)

Thanks for your inputs.
Cheers,
Seb

Hi, Seb,

Welcome to Scrivener and the forums! You have options on how to do the headings you want. Details below.

1. Scrivener for iOS does not at this time have all the preset customization options that the desktop vesions do. On the desktop, one can make and save custom paragraph presets. These can also be exported for use in iOS Scrivener. But the iOS app doesn’t (yet?) have the facility for creating and saving new presets directly.

2. But you can copy and paste formatting. So, if you have a heading style set in one place, you can copy and paste it onto all the other places you want it. The copy/paste formatting is under Fornatting (aka paunt brush) under Formatting Options. There is another way to get what you want – see below.