Help Saving

Apologies as this must have been dealt with at length elsewhere but

1. I am doing a thesis and petrified that I will lose it so what is the safest way to back it up?
    I see some people suggesting to compile each chapter to Word but that seems cumbersome.

2 When I save to dropbox, it appears to create 2 files and sometimes 3
Sometimes with .scriv, sometimes without, and as a zip file.
Can I eliminate some of these? It seems unnecessarily complicated.

Thank you

Yes, on point one I would think that a bit excessive. Compiling the entire work out to a single file—that’s fine. It only takes a few seconds and once you set it up you can just leave the settings that way until you need to transition to using the compiler for other things.

A better solution, if you just want a non-Scrivener backup of your data, is the File/Export/Files… menu command, which comes with a lot of easy to use options for exporting just about everything in the project. You can just select the Draft folder, or even export the entire Binder, preserving your research and background material as well.

I’m not sure what is happening there without a little more information into the processes you are using (what constitutes “save to dropbox”, File/Save As…, or dragging a closed project in Finder from one folder to another, or something else?). I can say that .zip is Scrivener’s default backup format and unless you have a strong reason to not use Zip files (huge projects can take a while to compress, for example), I would recommend leaving that option on. It’s much safer, especially when transferring material around the Internet.

Thank you Amber

I am “saving as…” to Dropbox…but after experimenting I have discovered that when I close the project it automatically saves it as a zip file with the most recent name used with a “._2014_19-TO9-35.zip” ending.

Consequently, I am ending up with dozens of copies of the project in dropbox.