Help Sought From the Naturally Organised

Here’s my dumb question: does any logisitically-minded Samaritan have any ideas for getting material out of actual books into that Scrivener project?

Obviously I’ve tried scanning stuff in, page by page. But that’s slow and dull and OCR seems stuck in about 1994.

At the moment I’m manually highlighting the printed text and typing in what I need. This worked fine when I was an undergraduate using a Smith Corona - but in those days I smoked heavily and was therefore rarely bored.

What I need to know; am I missing some brilliant organisational technique, some godlike OCR software - something fast and efficient and intuitive and liberating?

1. Don’t use Scrivener as a research database. Buy one of the Devon products, which are far better at storing, searching, and analyzing masses of data. If you buy Devon Think Pro Office, it accepts scanned input and provides OCR, turning print into machine-readable text. The best machine for that purpose is the Fujitsu ScanSnap.

2. If you can’t scan it, or find it on the web and store it as a file in DTPO, it’s an awful waste of your time to type up long documents. Write an abstract of it instead, with a pointer as to where this document is in your files. That way, if you really need its contents, you’ll find it quickly enough.

3. Remember that 80 to 90% of research never gets used in a final piece of writing. We all tend to over-research out of insecurity or because it creates the illusion of work but is really procrastination.

4. Don’t go back to smoking. That’s the best decision you’ve made so far! :slight_smile:

Cheers Druid

Probably I should clarify. This isn’t collecting early research; I’ve done all the noodling around. This is stuff that’s been whittled down from the twenty squillion books I had to read in order to get a handle on this project. By which I mean: this is stuff that’s going to be used.