Help with 'Auto-Completion' feature, please.

Hi everyone,

I’m quite new to Srivener, but I absolutely love it. Thanks, L&L for the amazing software.
So far, I found all the necessary help/tutorials on this site and in the ‘How to’ videos, apart from one thing.

I’m not a native English speaker, so the ‘Auto-Completion’ feature is a big bonus for me. It helps me with spelling for difficult, rarely used words, or simply just gives me an idea of my next word. However, It is very disrupting that it pops up when I haven’t even typed anything. Just by pressing ‘space’ or ‘enter’, it will offer me my most used word. It’s particularly unfortunate when I press ‘enter’ two times since it’ll automatically insert the top word in its list.

Is there a way to set this up to offer a word only when I actually typed at least one letter?

Thanks.

Edit: On second thought, pressing ‘space’ is ok in most times, pressing ‘enter’ is the more troublesome.

This sounds like you are referring to the Mac OS “correct spelling automatically” feature. It’s unfortunately not configurable, but you can turn it off in the Apple → System Preferences → Keyboard → Text pane.

Katherine

Hi, thanks for your reply.

Maybe I wasn’t explaining it well, sorry. I attach a screenshot…

As you can see in the picture below, I haven’t even typed the first letter of my next word, but it’s already offering me words. Again, this is not necessarily bad when I’m writing. However, when researching, making notes, etc… It is very disrupting. Especially, because it also happens when I press enter to start a new line/paragraph.

Imagine when I making a list…
Hit enter, it pops up
Hit enter again, it inserts the top word
I need to go back and delete the unwanted word
Or I have to keep clicking somewhere to dismiss the offered word, then back to my list.
And so on…