Help with Custom Meta-Data & Saved Search Result Collections

Hello,

I am new to Scrivener and the company I have just started working for use Scrivener on Macs to generate training material.

I have been give a scriv (generated on a Mac) that contains all the training content for a particular product. A selection of “Saved Search Result Collections” generate different training manuals depending on the presence of a custom Metadata value (called MCE)

The majority of the content is tagged with MCE, however the saved search is only ‘collecting’ a very small selection.

If I delete and re-type the MCE value in the meta-data field of a section that is not appearingm, navigate away and back to the MCE saved search, it then is updated with the section that I have just retyped the Meta-data into…

Is this expected behaviour? (can’t believe it is…)

There are literally hundreds of sections that would need the the MCE tag re-writing (not to mention the two other tags that we use…) and worse, having down a few to prove it, I found that the search did not persist across a save…

Am I using it wrong ?

Thanks for ant help or advice…

Try selecting Tools > Save and Rebuild Search Engines. This seems like it may just be a problem with the search index not being up-to-date for some reason (project didn’t close correctly at some point, for instance), so just having it rebuild that may be all you need. Be sure then to switch collections and back so that it re-runs the search as well.

If that doesn’t work, we can take a look at the specifics of the search and meta-data settings, but give the rebuild a try first.

Hi MM

Thanks for the reply.

Nope, that did not help. Neither a normal search for MCE meta data nor a Save as collection worked. Still only returning a fraction of what it should.

Thanks

Paul

Okay, yes, there’s definitely a bug here, though I think it’s still a search index issue. Try this:

1. Select the Draft folder in the binder