Help with tables

I’m new to both the Mac and to Scrivener, so this is probably just something basic I don’t understand yet or perhaps some sort of odd bug. I was reading something about Scrivener 2.0 having updated table support so maybe this is just a new bug that snuck in with the updates?

What I want to do is make a full page table broken up into equal sized cells, basically subdividing my page into a 3x3 set of cards.

I’ve been wrestling with the table feature but have had no success. Here’s the issues I’ve been having (this is on Snow Leopard btw in case it matters):

1. Can only adjust vertical size manually, I have not found a way to set the size in inches to make them precisely equal.
  2. Bottom row line sometimes cannot be selected to resize, so I’ve taken to creating an extra row and then deleting it later
  3. Some cells will not take focus. I can click in one cell and start typing, but other cells no matter how much I click in them will not select
  4. Cells show up with different cell settings, I have some cells with black walls and some with grey. Cannot find how to set the format of ALL cells in a table at once.

This is driving me up the wall as it seems like it should be a trivial thing to do. I’ve tried searching online but “tables” is such a generic search term that I’m having trouble finding anything really related. I’m open to creative solutions but I do need to be able to print the page in a table form - imagine you wanted to cut it up after printing to create small flashcards sort of thing.

Any help is very much appreciated, thanks!

Unfortunately Scrivener relies on Apple’s implementation of tables in the standard OS X text system, so they are not great, to say the least (take a look in TextEdit to see the standard Apple implementation).