Hotkey for enumerations and lists

Hello everyone.

I am fairly new to Scrivener so maybe I just don’t find the correct setting. I was writing in Word and Pages till now and when I write I often use enumerations like that:

So with Pages, Word and any other writing app I have used so far you have to press “Shift”+“Enter” to get an empty line but with Scrivener you have to press “ctrl”+“Enter”.
This is very confusing to me and I make many mistakes because of that. Is there a way to change the settings?

Yes, there may be a way of doing this, but to clarify, what is the exact structure you are going for here, basically multiple lines within a single enumeration point? If so, then the keyboard shortcut you want to alter in the Mac OS X Keyboard system preference pane is called “Line Break”, which can be found in the Edit/Insert/ sub-menu. If you are just looking for a way to terminate the enumeration environment, then hitting Return twice is what you want, not a line break (line breaks exist within a “paragraph” structure, and so using them to emulate paragraph breaks can cause undesirable formatting glitches).

Hello!

Thank you for your answer.

That is exactly what I was looking for. I meant “Line Break”. Is there another way to change Scrivener’s keyboard shortcuts besides general system settings in MacOSX?

My problem is now:
OSX doesn’t let me set shift+enter as shortcut for the function. I guess that it is used by some other program or function but I couldn’t find anything.
What I am wondering about, too, is the fact that I can make line breaks with ctrl+enter, which isn’t described in the edit/insert menu as shortcut for that function. There it is alt+cmd+enter. I am very confused.