How do I make a to-do list?

I’m relatively new to Scrivener and still learning basics. I know people create to-do lists but I haven’t been able to find anything in User Guide or tutorials. Can someone point me to the right place to look, or give me a quick how-to?

An aside: phpBB (that powers this forum) is a time-honored BB app but there is one maddening thing about it - you can’t search for phrases by enclosing the phrase in quotes like you can in Google and most search engines and some other BB software. So a search for “to do list” brought up 8000+ results, perhaps all the posts ever in this forum, because it returned any post with the word “to” in it, or “do” or “list”. Sigh. Maddening.

Yeah, I agree there are better forum applications out there, but this one came pre-installed with our host for free, and considering that it was set up back when L&L consisted of one part-time school teacher… it only makes sense. :slight_smile:

You won’t find anything in the user manual for making a to-do list because there isn’t a feature for it and the manual tries (often unsuccessfully—my fault) to stay away from usage scenarios as it spends enough pages merely describing the software. You may find the default Status markers to suffice for this, that is what they are for. Every new project comes with a “To Do” and “Done” prefab status. If you want you can set up a saved search collection looking for the status “To Do” to give yourself a concise list. The idea is, rather than centralise a list that you must go to to modify, the entire manuscript and all of its associated research itself can become the to do list.