How do I make horizontal lines for people to write on?

Hi! I am a Danish writer who is going to republish a self help book. Throughout the book there are several questions to encourage the reader to reflect. The book is supposed to come out in different formats:

1. Printed book (size 15 cm x 22 cm).
  2. E-book.
  3. Workbook (size A4, contains only the questions, works as a supplement to the e-book).

Along with the questions I would like to add spaces in the book for the reader to reply. That is, horizontal lines. But how do I do this?

I have used the “edit/insert/horizontal line/page-spanning line,” but it doesn’t work. In the print edition (pdf-preview) it just leaves a small dot on the right side and not a full line.

I have also tried “edit/insert/horizontal line/centered line.” Must lines look OK in the printed book (size 15 cm x 22), although some lines for some reason are shorter than others. BUT - when I copy the “question files” and insert them into the workbook project and then preview the print, then the lines are all messed up.

What should I do?

How do I make nice writable lines with the same width as the text, in both the printbook, the ebook and the workbook?

If anyone could answer this, I would be so grateful!

Anette

First some theory on what you are seeing: full-width horizontal rule works by using tab stops and the various available underscoring options between the tab stops. So if a stop is positioned in your editor so far to the right that it exists outside of the printable area, it won’t draw a line off of the page, it will just move the termination point to the next line (which in turn breaks underscoring between two points on a line, seeing as how they are now on two visual lines). So the solution should be to move the tab point on the ruler back to a point where it fits on your paper and margin settings. The ruler is Cmd-R by the way, if you can’t see it.

But…