How do I use references?

Hello,

I am new to Scrivener, just purchased it, and I must say I think it looks great for text, although the image and illustration support is something that could be done a lot better, like for example why can’t you have text next to an image? Placing an image creates a huge white field next to it, where no text can be placed. I found a work-around using tables, but that’s only a half-way solution.

There’s also many other things I react on, like not being able to edit column width in a table with the cursor. The whole table engine is bugged and not user-friendly, which is a huge disappointment. I have a lot of suggestions for improvements that I will post later, because I want to help this program get even better, as I do enjoy it, and think I will be working a lot with it.

My main concern, however, is that I can’t seem to find how to use references. The manual says a lot about a reference table, but I can’t find it anywhere. Is it supposed to be on the menu to the left? There I only have Draft, Research and Trash. Could anyone please explain in detail how I can use references?

Thanks in advance!

Okay, I found the reference bar, kinda hidden in the down right corner. But I am amazed - is it not possible to add a “link” to the reference within the text itself?

It seems to me like the “reference” bar in Scrivener is nothing more than a set of notes with the ability to have URLs and internal links. References in an academic text is supposed to be like this:

Claim [1]

[1] Author, name, journal, year, volume, page number

Is it not possible to have references like this, or similar, in Scrivener? It should be, even OpenOffice has that possibility!