How to insert symbols into Scrivener?

I’ve been using Scriv for a few months, and as a writer I’m loving it - so much so that I want to start using it for class notes, where I think its organizational system would excel.

Here’s the rub: I study linguistics, and I need to be able to insert phonetic symbols, especially letters of the Greek alphabet, into my notes. So how do I do this? Surely OS X’s text system has a provision for these kinds of symbols. The problem is, I don’t think Scrivener has an “insert symbol” feature with a character palette. I tried cutting and pasting as a workaround, but even that didn’t work. Scrivener didn’t display the symbol I pasted in (Theta, in this case, drawn from Word).

If it helps, here’s a link to a page which explains the hassle linguists have to go to in order to reproduce the International Phonetic Alphabet when they’re writing:

linguistics.ucla.edu/people/hayes/Fonts/

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

If you’re using just one (unicode) font maybe a solution can be programs like TextExpander, Typeit4Me or Typinator – you type an abbreviation in latin letters (or figures) and get whatever special character or word you want.

I can’t tell if that would be of any help for you at all.

Just one thing if it sounds interesting for you: All three programs offer both inserting plain text or formatted text snippets. So it would even work if you have to use a special linguistics font beside your normal text font. The problem with it is that, again in all three programs, formatted text means not just a different font but the whole set including font size etc. Which means that with formatted snippings you always get one particular font size, no matter if you had been typing the abbreviation in the normal text, in a footnote or a heading.

EDIT: The OS character palette does not work for you? For me it does. It’s a OS X service and Scrivener works with OS services – with Word I wouldn’t be so sure about.