How to see chapter numbers in Scrivenings View

Hi all,

Doing quite well with Scrivener after several months use now. Getting to that point where I don’t know what I would do without it. Having used a lot of authoring software, some cheaper, some more expensive, some astronomically expensive, this makes me very happy. And, I’m still learning.

I searched the Forum and didn’t find this topic per se, so here is my question:

Is there some way to see chapter numbers on the folders in the Binder using Scrivenings View on the computer screen?

Some of my books have 50 to 60 chapters. I also co-author, and bill using Chapter Numbers, and Scene headings/numbers to record hours and progress on QuickBooks timesheets. I know I can type in 1,2,3…, but that has all sorts of issues with it during WIP, while organizing the story. I know I can use Chapter Headings to bill rather than numbers, but that doesn’t provide my clients with the type of (warm fuzzy) progress indicators that chapter numbers provide. I know I can compile the book and all is fine, but this is a labor intensive way to answer a relatively simple question for myself during the book’s WIP period.

I’m looking for a way to do this without having to compile. Any ideas, work-arounds, and so forth are appreciated.

Blessings to all !
Dan H

I’m sorry, but no, that’s not possible.

It is possible to see card numbers in the Corkboard view: View -> Corkboard Options -> Card Numbers.

But I’m afraid none of the other views have this capability.

Katherine

Thank you for the feedback. There is some utility there, if I format my writing in advance to accommodate that feature, which is possible to some degree of accuracy for my purposes. And, that is a feature I didn’t know existed, so you’ve educated me in that regard.

Kind regards,
Dan H.