How to temporarily compile my manuscript?

Hello from me in Spain! I am a complete newbie and a bit lost in Tech-Speak-Land, here… Help! I am not sure if I have even posted this to the right topic area etc. Here is what I would like to know: I am using Scrivener for Windows Version: 3.0.0.0 and I have a question regarding ‘Compile’. I am writing a book and am less than 50% through typing up my manuscript in Scrivener. Basically I am trying to save my growing manuscript in various forms and on various computers in case my own laptop fails. I would like to ‘save it to the Cloud’ but I have no idea how to do that! So in the meantime here is my query regarding ‘Compile’. Is this something one does just once at the very end of having written the book? Or, better news for me, can I use that function to compile a TEMPORARY copy, say in PDF format or Word format so that I can email it to my husband, for example, and save it as well on a external drive? The reason I am nervous to hit ‘Compile’ is that if that button is a one-off thing that once you hit it, it then compiles the whole book and considers my book ‘done and completed now and closing this file, thank you’ which it absolutely is NOT, then I will not be able to get back into my manuscript to carry on the work of writing the book? I hope my question is understandable! Thanks to anyone that can assist. Melissa

1 Like

Compile any time you want and as many times as you want.

As your question relates to data protection, set the number of backups to say 25 which gives plenty of options to go back in time to find an undamaged copy if the worst happens. Also set backups to compress (.zip). Choose a save location to the cloud service of your choice so the backups are saved somewhere other than your local computer.

If you have a failure, you can extract the backup back to your local computer.

1 Like