I want to output a PDF to create a book for my Philosophy students and I need your help

Hi, everyone!

I’ll be very glad if you could suggest me anything that will help me. I am pretty sure the software —including Scrivener— is working fine, but I cannot make it work. I’m just missing something. Thank you very much in advance, good folks at the Literature and Latte forum!

I am a Philosophy teacher at a High School in the Basque Country (Spain). Over the years I’ve written tens of thousands of words for my students, mainly on Philosophy, History of Philosophy and Psychology, and in three different languages. Always in MultiMarkdown. I type my work in a Mac computer, using mainly iA Writer to edit my Scrivener manuscript via the sync option, but confiding in Scrivener itself for the outline and all the research info.

I usually hand out the units or lessons of my classes in 3K-15K word html (via Moodle or Classroom) and the cute PDFs that iA Writer, Marked 2 or MultiMarkdown Composer do. In an awfully distant past I used the then brand new Scrivener to write formatted text, but since I discovered MMD, I haven’t looked back. But I digress.

My goal now is to consolidate my work into three textbooks in Spanish, all of them I have neatly set up in Scrivener. The basque versions of those books will follow if I get the LaTeX PDF version to work. The manuscript of the History of Philosophy subject is 99,000 words long.

The thing is I’d like to take advantage of the LaTeX exporting capabilities o Scrivener. The MultiMarkdown → PDF option could be enough, if I knew how to tailor it a little bit to my needs.

The main problem

After a lot of research and even the help of a colleague —a math teacher, who else?—, and after having tried a lot of things, including Pandoc, here is the point where I am at: