I'm losing my text

Hi,

I’ve been using Scrivener for a couple years and am just now losing text.

The other day I opened my project and four completed scenes were completely blank. The next day I noted that several synopses were gone. Today I paid more attention and clearly watched as my synopses disappeared, gone forever, when I clicked on the title in outline mode with a double screen.

So far, I’ve been able to recapture the lost text because I’ve sent proofs to my writing partner, but it’s super scary and I lost hours recopying and pasting only to have to do it again today.

Please help.

thank you,
Sea

Since you list Mac + iOS in your profile, I assume you are using Dropbox? This is a common symptom of a synchronization error, where the master index file (used to build the Binder) is out of sync with the actual documents in the project. Make sure to fully synchronize Dropbox before leaving one system, and before opening the project on the other.

On the Mac, Scrivener’s automatic backups can be found by going to the Scrivener -> Preferences -> Backups tab, and checking the box to open the backup folder in Finder.

For future reference, it’s a good idea to address this kind of problem immediately. Ignoring it won’t make it go away. Not only do you risk further data loss, but because of the way Scrivener’s backups work you risk progressively overwriting good backups with damaged copies of the project.

Katherine

What can be done to make these kinds of sync errors far less common?

Don’t open the project in multiple locations at once.

Always ensure that Dropbox has finished synchronizing before shutting down the device you’re working on, and before opening the project on a new device.

If you find yourself with an unusually poor internet connection, be sure to synchronize the project once your connectivity is restored. (In extreme cases, it might make sense to simply disable synchronization altogether until you have good connectivity again.)