Images don't appear in my compiled Word doc

For some reason, when I compile documents the images embedded in my Scrivener file won’t show up. There’s just a blank line where the image is supposed to be.

They used to show up, but now they don’t. I didn’t change anything in the way that I compile documents, as far as I can tell. (I’ve been using Scrivener for a few years now fairly comfortably, and converted to Scrivener 3 when it was released - but I’ve been able to export documents with images in Scrivener 3 before as well.)

I’ve gone over the compile tutorials to see if there is something I’m missing and I feel like I understand the new compile system in Scrivener 3. I’ve checked to see if there was a setting that I might have inadvertently turned off. I had the images set as images linked to files, but then to be sure I tried converting them to embedded images, and that didn’t make a difference.

I’m assuming there’s something fairly obvious that I’m missing…? Any thoughts on what it is?

Are you sure that they’re not there?

I know it sounds like a dumb question, but Word can be configured to not show images for performance reasons.

It might also be helpful to compile to another format, such as PDF.

Katherine

Just to double-check: are you definitely opening the Word document in Word itself? If you are opening it in TextEdit, for instance, the images won’t show up simply because TextEdit doesn’t support images in Word files.

That’s interesting. I am opening the document in Word and I’m pretty sure they aren’t there. There’s only a single space where the images should be. I haven’t changed anything in the Word settings since when I opened earlier drafts, where the images were present …

But: when I compile to a pdf, the images do show up. I’m not sure why that might be.