Images overlapping text

I am a noob and find Scrivener enchanting. However, I cannot figure out how to keep images from overlapping the text above them. I insert them with a tag, such as

<$img:myfig;h=200>

but upon compile the image covers the text above it. Aside from just inserting a bunch of blank lines, does anyone know how can I fix this? My book will have hundreds of figures.

It sounds like you’re forcing the line-height on your image to a fixed value rather than letting the system size the line as it needs to fit the image. Such a problem might be invisible in the editor since you’re using text codes and presumably the fixed line-height is sufficient to accommodate a line of text, otherwise your editor would be a jumped mess! Put your cursor beside the image and use the Format/Text/Line and Paragraph Spacing… menu command. The settings should all be straightforward in how they are labelled, so just make sure they are logical. A good setting for images is some spacing above and below the image using the Paragraph before/after settings, a multiplier of 1.0 and everything else zeroed out.

Once you get that set up, and maybe any other formatting like alignment, you can create a formatting preset to fix the other images and set the up properly going forward. Check out the Format/Formatting/ sub-menu for those options.

Thanks for the advice, but the problem persists. In Line and Paragraph Spacings the Line Height options are Exactly, At least, and At least + At most. The default is At least 0.0. I can fix the problem if I set At least to a large enough value, but I would have to do this for each image, which is not very workable.