Importing document: chapters & folders

I have an existing document that already has chapter breaks (in .docx for mac). When I import the file (62K words) to the binder do I really have to create a new folder for every chapter? That’s what the existing “novel” template says I should do. That seems incredibly time-consuming. Is it really the only way or am I missing something b/c I’m new to scrivener? If there is a faster way to do this importing to novel format (to be compiled as e-book, etc), please offer suggestions! Thanks.

Well, I wouldn’t say there is any reason to use folders if you do not intend to break things down any further. Naturally, a folder is for gathering like items together (like scenes in a novel, or subsections in a technical document), so there would be absolutely no reason at all to create a folder with just one file in it. :slight_smile: Just make a flat list of files. The template help file has suggestions on how to work that way (you only need to flip a few switches).

Secondly, it is really easy to split up a long document into smaller pieces. Just put your cursor where the break is and use Documents/Split/at Selection, or Cmd-K. You can also select what will be the title of the split-off document and use the other command. Used in conjunction with the Edit/Find/Find by Formatting… tool, you can usually just search for bold text to jump from chapter title to title, splitting as you go.