Importing docx problems...

Hello,

So I am new to Scrivener and Mac!

My last laptop, an Asus, bit the dust (32 bit xp w/ Office 2010 if you must know). I was lucky to get all my writing files on a flash drive before it died.

This was a week ago and I haven’t written in my current novel since. It’s killing me! So after going through the tutorial and reading Scrivener can import doc/docs I bought the software and tried to import a short story I had to stop working on. I transferred the docx from my flash drive into a folder I made called “writings” in the document stack of Mac.

Then I tried importing it from there

The “importing file” bar appeared and it looked like it imported. But when I clicked “open file” on Scrivener and tried to open said file, it was grayed out and wouldn’t let me select it!

Does it import somewhere else? Somewhere else I can’t find? Or is this a bug? Am I doing this right? As I said, I’m new to Mac.

PS: I pulled all my writing files from the flash drive over into “writings” a couple minutes later and Scrivener gave me the “import” bar as if it was importing all 160 documents. When I “open file” and go into “writings” once again, docx is all grayed and the wps files are very darkly grayed out. Are wps even transferable? If they aren’t, is there some kind of work around? I have three novels on wps!

Thanks for your help :slight_smile: Can’t wait to start writing again :slight_smile:

pps: I have Lion :wink:

Okay.

I think where I might have gone wrong is I pulled over all my window folders from my flash drive into the Documents thing. I selected the main folder that housed all my documents and asked to import. Which did nothing.

So I removed a docx file out of all the folders and just dropped it into the Mac Documents section.

Imported.

And worked!?

I have SO many windows folders. Each one is named after the title of the story. Some of those folders have sub-folders also.