Importing large file

As a newbie, I need some advice.

I have a piece 35,000 words, 40 short chapters, that I would like to pull into my newly purchased Scrivener. I’ve done the tutorial, so I’m guessing that the best way to do that is to read in the whole file, then go through the splitting process mentioned in step 18. I have my own versions of character sheets, etc. that I will bring in separately, though it’s not clear to me how I get them into the ‘Research’ part of the software. Advice?? :mrgreen:

Drag the files from Finder into the Research folder of the Binder? :slight_smile: It’s just wherever you drop things, like anywhere else on the Mac. If you are using File/Import/Files... then just select the location you wish to import the items to, first.

You’ll probably want to sort them into a character folder though to organise things a bit. So once you’ve got them all imported and moved where you want (again, just drag and drop stuff around), select all of the items and use Documents/Group to group them together into a folder. Then you can select the folder and use Documents/Change Icon/ to give it a nicer icon.

Hi John,

With regard to bringing in existing work, you have a couple of choices from a practical perspective:

1. Yes, you can just import it and then use the Document > Split features to cut it up into smaller documents. This gives you the most control.